Members Present 

at the Inaugural Meeting

Members Present at the Inaugural Meeting

The inaugural meeting of the Tanka Society of America took place on April 14, 2000 at the Global Haiku Festival held at Millikin University in Decatur, Illinois (read a report about this inaugural meeting). The meeting was convened and run by TSA founder Michael Dylan Welch, who proposed the group’s name and was elected as first president. Those present for this inaugural meeting of the society were as follows:

Randy Brooks

Naomi Y. Brown

David Cobb (from England)

Ellen Compton

Job Conger

Penny Harter

William J. Higginson

Larry Lavenz

Pamela Miller Ness

Michael Nickels-Wisdom

Chris Spindle

Celia Stuart-Powles

Michael Dylan Welch

Paul O. Williams

Michael Dylan Welch convened and facilitated the inaugural meeting of the Tanka Society of America in the “Fireplace Room” in the Student Union at Millikin University.