2024 Goldstein Contest Guidelines

2024 Sanford Goldstein International Tanka Contest Guidelines

The 25th Tanka Society of America Sanford Goldstein International Tanka Contest:

Call for Submissions

Learn more about Sanford Goldstein, for whom our contest is named.

Submission Window: April 1 through May 31, 2024 (in-hand deadline).

Eligibility: Open to all, members and nonmembers alike, except Tanka Society of America officers and judges.

Entry Fees: None. You may enter up to four tanka at no charge. Donations are welcome and encouraged, however. Please click the Donate button to help offset our expenses—thank you!

Submissions: Please use the online submission form. You may submit up to four tanka. If you enter more than four poems, only the first four will be considered. Please also submit your name, address, email, and phone number. Entries must be original, in English, unpublished, and not simultaneously submitted for publication or to any other contest. Poems posted on public Facebook pages, blogs, or other websites or social media are not eligible for submission. By submitting, you assert that your entries are previously unpublished and are solely your own original creations. If you submit using the online submission form (see below), please do NOT also email any submissions—use one submission method only.

Awards: $100 for first prize, $50 for second prize, and $25 for third prize, plus honorable mentions.

Bonus: Through a random drawing, one person who enters the TSA tanka contest will receive a free year of TSA membership. A winner will be announced after contest results are announced.

Announcements: Winners will be announced in August 2024. Winning tanka and judges’ comments will be published on the TSA website (see past winners and commentary), the TSA Facebook page, the TSA Twitter and Tumblr accounts, and in our journal, Ribbons.

Adjudication: The judges for this year’s contest are Reid Hepworth and Vandana Parashar (click to see bios and photos).

Rights: All rights revert to the authors after publication on this website, on social media, and in Ribbons.

We look forward to receiving your entries! If you have any questions, please contact the contest coordinator, Susan Burch, at vicepresidenttsa@gmail.com, or website administrator, Michael Dylan Welch, at WelchM@aol.com.