2015 Sanford Goldstein Tanka Contest Results

Post date: Aug 07, 2015 2:56:28 PM

Time to celebrate! The Tanka Society of America is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Sanford Goldstein International Tanka Contest—our first results after renaming our contest for tanka pioneer Sanford Goldstein. We received 499 entries from poets in a dozen countries. Many thanks to our judges, Carole MacRury and Laura Maffei, and to all who entered the contest. The winning tanka have now been posted. Our complete report with the judges’ comments will be published in the fall 2015 issue of Ribbons and later on this website. Congratulations to these poets:

1st place: Ken Slaughter (USA)

2nd place: José Angel Araguz (USA)

3rd place: Susan Burch (USA)

Honorable mentions: Dawn Manning (USA), David Terelinck (Australia), James Chessing (USA), and Kenneth Slaughter (2) (USA)